POWER OF THE PACK

The UNM Foundation: Our Stories of Impact

About Us

Vision

Empowering The University of New Mexico to advance education, research, and health for the benefit of our community and the world

Mission

Create powerful engagements and partnerships that lead to increased philanthropy, investment, innovation, and support for The University of New Mexico.

Core Values

  • Integrity
  • Collaboration
  • Stewardship
  • Accountability
  • Inclusion

Fundraising at The University of New Mexico

In order to develop private financial support for The University of New Mexico, the University’s Board of Regents established the UNM Foundation Inc. in 1979 as an incorporated nonprofit corporation. The Foundation began operations in the spring of 1980, conducting all of its operations through a University department. At that time, University units hired development professionals and limited staff to provide direct fund raising and other support to programmatic initiatives for philanthropy.

In 1989, the Board of Regents delegated the responsibility of overseeing University assets and investments to the UNM Foundation Investment Committee. These assets total in excess of $400 million today.

In 2008, at the request of the Regents, the Foundation transitioned to a stand‐alone organization with expanded fiduciary duties to include fiscal, human resources and treasury functions. Since its creation, and in accordance with University policy, all private gifts are received through the Foundation, which has the responsibility for managing contributions to all University programs. Gifts to the UNM Foundation are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Learn more at unmfund.org

A group of students sitting on Johnson Field with the dorms and Sandia Mountains in the background

UNM Foundation Leadership

Jeff Todd
President and CEO
(505) 313-7667
Jeff.Todd@unmfund.org

Larry Ryan
Vice President of University Development
(505) 313-7626
Larry.Ryan@unmfund.org

Trish Idarola
Senior Associate Vice President of Digital Strategy, Services & Analytics
(505) 313-7612
Trish.Idarola@unmfund.org

Kenny Stansbury
Chief Financial Officer
(505) 313-7633
Kenny.Stansbury@unmfund.org

William (Bill) Uher
Vice President of Development
(505) 313-7622
Bill.Uher@unmfund.org

Kristine Mazzei
Senior Associate Vice President of Central Development
(530) 219-1507
Kristine.Mazzei@unmfund.org

Patrick (Pat) Allen
General Counsel
(505) 313-7605
Pat.Allen@unmfund.org

Annette Hazen
Senior Associate Vice President of Engagement & Acquisition
(505) 313-7637
Annette.Hazen@unmfund.org

Gretchen Doyle
Associate Vice President of Human Resources
(505) 313-7647
Gretchen.Doyle@unmfund.org

About the Foundation